1. God of War Games in Order
2. FAQs

Comprehensive Guide to the God of War Games in Order

Aaren WoodsAaren WoodsUpdated on Aug 15, 2023Games

Step into the shoes of Kratos, the formidable Spartan warrior, as you embark on a gripping and mythic adventure in the God of War games. This beloved video game franchise has enthralled players worldwide with its epic storytelling, intense combat, and breathtaking visuals. In this comprehensive guide, we will explore the world of God of War, providing a detailed overview of each game in the series, the chronological order in which they should be played, and the franchise's evolution over time.

Play God of War Games in Order
1. All God of War Games in Order 2. FAQs about Playing God of War Games in Order

All God of War Games in Order

God of War (2005)

In the first God of War (2005), Kratos sets out to destroy Ares, the god of war, motivated by his desire for revenge. In his journey for redemption, he faces off against many mythical foes and solves riddles along the way.

God of War 2005

God of War ll (2007)

Kratos resumes his quest for vengeance against the Olympus gods in the sequel. In an epic struggle for his life and the destiny of Olympus, he gathers new friends and weapons and engages in combat with strong titans and gods. Players will have an action-packed and intense experience in God of War II, further solidifying Kratos' reputation as one of gaming's most recognizable and brutal anti-heroes.

God of War ll 2007

God of War: Betrayal (2007)

The events of God of War: Betrayal (2007) occur in the interim between the first and second main installments. Kratos sets off on a quest to foil a plan hatched by the gods, running against old foes and learning more about his terrible history. Fans may get more history and see Kratos' unrelenting quest of justice and revenge in God of War: Betrayal, which delivers a compressed yet action-packed experience.

God of War Betrail 2007

God of War: Chains of Olympus (2008)

Before the previous game's events, God of War: Chains of Olympus (2008) follows Kratos as he fights for the gods of Olympus and takes on an evil power that threatens the entire planet. Important information about Kratos' early life and sad past is revealed throughout the game. The immersive and action-packed God of War: Chains of Olympus adventure adds to Kratos' backstory and character development. It contributes significantly to the God of War story and gives players a better grasp of the legendary protagonist of the series' difficult and sad journey.

God of War Chains of Olympus 2008

God of War lll (2010)

Kratos' quest for revenge against the gods reaches its pinnacle in the third main installment. He starts an assault on Olympus with the Titans at his side, fighting titanic battles and going up against the most powerful gods to bring Mount Olympus itself down. God of War III is hailed for its breathtaking aesthetics, challenging gameplay, and compelling story highlighting Kratos' revenge. The conclusion of the first God of War trilogy illustrates the epic scope of the struggle between gods and humans and the effects of Kratos' unquenchable desire for vengeance.

God of War lll 2010

God of War: Ghost of Sparta (2010)

After the original game's events, God of War: Ghost of Sparta (2010) explores Kratos' history in more detail. He sets out on a mission to rescue his brother Deimos from the realm of death, learning terrible truths and battling his inner demons along the way. In this prologue to the whole series, Kratos' history is explored in God of War: Ascension (2013). He battles his way through various obstacles while being held prisoner by the Furies for violating a blood pledge to escape their control.

God of War Ghost of Parta 2010

God of War Ascension (2013)

Players may better understand Kratos' motivations and the incidents that molded his path throughout the series by playing God of War: Ascension. It explains his terrible origins and difficulties before becoming the legendary Spartan warrior seeking retribution against the gods.

God of War Ascension 2013

God of War (2018)

God of War (2018): This game acts as a soft relaunch of the franchise by situating the story in Norse mythology. To grant his wife's dying desire, an older and wiser Kratos sets off on a journey with his son Atreus. Together, they battle evil beings and gods as they learn the truth about Atreus' ancestry. For its sophisticated plot, character development, and seamless incorporation of Norse mythology into the existing God of War world, God of War (2018) won praise from critics. The game's conclusion prepares players for the much-awaited sequel, God of War Ragnarök, in which Kratos and Atreus will take on Ragnarök's full might, the cataclysmic catastrophe that threatens the world.

God of War Ragnarök (2022)

The latest installment of God of War, Ragnarök (2022) continues the plot of Norse mythology. Ragnarök, the imminent catastrophe, forces gods and animals from every dimension to engage in a titanic conflict that will decide the world's destiny, forcing Kratos and Atreus to face it.

God of War Ragnarok 2022

2. FAQs about Playing God of War Games in Order

What is the gameplay like in God of War?

God of War's gameplay blends puzzle-solving, action, and battle components. Kratos is controlled by the player, who uses a range of weapons and skills to fight foes in stressful encounters.

What are the different difficulty levels in God of War games?

The majority of God of War games feature a variety of difficulties, from simple to hard. The difficulty level impacts the adversary AI, damage taken, and overall challenge.

How many God of War games are there in order?

There are actually nine God of War games. These games follow the journey of Kratos, the protagonist, as he battles gods, monsters, and mythical creatures in his quest for vengeance, redemption, and ultimately, his own humanity. The series has seen a tremendous evolution in gameplay mechanics, storytelling, and graphics, offering players a compelling and immersive experience throughout the years.

How long does it take to complete a God of War game?

A God of War game's main plot may often be finished in 10 to 20 hours, with an extra hour for optional material and side missions.

Can I play the God of War games in chronological order?

You may play the God of War games in order, starting with God of War: Ascension and moving on to the other games in the main series in the order of their releases. It's important to note that each game is designed to be enjoyed independently and may be played in any sequence without causing too much confusion.


Overall, the God of War chronologically provides players with an engaging mix of thrilling gameplay with a fascinating story that explores themes of retribution, atonement, and the effects of one's choices. It has won praise from critics for its compelling tale and has grown to be a well-known series in the video game industry.

Did you find this helpful?

416 Votes

YesYESThanks for letting us know!NoNoThanks for letting us know!
AnyMP4 Video Converter Ultimate

All-in-one video converter, editor, enhancer upscaled with AI.

AnyMP4 Video Converter Ultimate